Syracuse's Treanor, Murray continue to receive honors after stellar seasons

After being named Tewaaraton finalists, the star attacks are also Honda Award nominees.

Alyssa Murray and Kayla Treanor can now add another accolade to their already impressive list of accompishments in 2014.

Both were named finalists for the 2014 Honda Sports Award for women's lacrosse on Thursday, according to Syracuse Athletics. They join Florida's Shannon Gilroy and Maryland's Taylor Cummings as nominees for the award, which is presented to the top female athlete in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports.

The winner will be selected next week by representatives from each NCAA member institution.

Treanor led the country in scoring with 117 points in 2014, while Murray moved into second place on the Syracuse all-time scoring list. Both were also named first-team All-Americans by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association.

The pair were also honored on Thursday evening as finalists for the Tewaaraton Trophy, awarded annually to the nation's best player. Cummings won the award after leading the Terrapins to their 11th national championship this past weekend.

Only two days earlier, Treanor was named Player of the Year by The rising junior is the quickest player in program history to surpass the 200-point plateau.

Post new comment

* Field must be completed for your comment to appear on The NewsHouse
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.