Onondaga County election results and what they mean

Candidates for positions from mayor to highway superintendent are one step closer to the Onondaga County general election on Nov. 7.

Here are the winners of Tuesday's primary election in Onondaga County and who will be on the ballot for the Nov. 7 general election.

Syracuse Mayor

Democratic Party: Juanita Perez Williams
Independence Party: Laura Lavine or Write-In (Too close to call) 
Reform Party: Benjamin Walsh

Perez Williams earned nearly 55 percent of the Democratic vote. Her runner up, Joe Nicoletti, who has lost primaries twice before, will be on the ballot in November for the Working Families Party. Lavine will represent the Republican party in the general election and Walsh will appear as the Reform Party candidate. 

Syracuse City Court Judge

Vanessa Bogan, Derrek Thomas, James Cecile

Incumbents Bogan, Cecile and Thomas fought of challenger Frank Pelosi to win the primary and secure the Democratic ballot line going into the November primary. 

Syracuse Councilor, 4th District

Latoya Allen

Allen secured nearly 60 percent of the vote for councilor of the 4th district, covering the south side, downtown Syracuse and part of the Syracuse University area.

Onondaga County Surrogate Court Judge

Loretta Kilpatrick

Kilpatrick narrowly defeated her competitor Mary Keib Smith by receiving 52 percent of the vote. The county surrogate court handles estate proceedings of those that died with or without wills and adoptions.

Onondaga County Family Court Judge

Michelle Pirro Bailey

Bailey, at the time of publishing, has 278 votes to her competitor, Laurin Haddad's 132. Bailey will be on the general election ballot for the Reform Party to preside over family court, which handles all domestic issues like child custody and divorce. 

Onondaga County Legislators

3rd District, Conservative Party: Peter Nasarenko
6th District, Conservative Party: Michael Plochocki
7th District, Independence Party: (Write In Candidate)
8th District, Independence Party: (Write In Candidate) 
13th District, Republican/Conservative Party: Kenneth Bush Jr.

Each of 17 districts in Onondaga County has a representative in the legislative arm of the county government. These winners will go on to run in the general election to serve in that arm and draft and approve local laws. 

Post new comment

* Field must be completed for your comment to appear on The NewsHouse
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.