Chancellor Syverud announces committee focused on undocumented students, DACA

The committee will review SU's current procedures and resources available for undocumented students and those who benefit from Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA).

Syracuse University Chancellor Kent Syverud announced Friday the names of faculty and staff members who will serve on his committee focused on Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) and undocumented students.

The ad hoc committee will look at Syracuse University's current policies and resources regarding undocumented students and those who benefit from DACA, according to a press release. It will make recommendations to the university on how to be supportive toward these students, as well as promote diversity and inclusivity on campus. 

Syverud said in a statement that he is confident that the committee members will do what they can to provide resources and support to help everyone in the SU community.

“All of us must collectively do everything we reasonably can to demonstrate our commitment to students who came to this country as children, were raised and educated here, but remain undocumented,” Syverud said.

Jennifer Mathews, director of undergraduate international admissions, and Michele “Shelly” Sipley, director of the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarship Programs, will co-chair the committee. The other members are:

• Patricia Burak, Director of the Slutzker Center for International Services

•  Myrna García-Calderón, Associate Professor, Spanish

•  Walt Donner, Graduate Student, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs

•  Huey Hsiao, Associate Director of Multicultural Affairs

•  Andrew Kim, Associate Professor, College of Law

•  Missy Mathis-Hanlon, Interim Director of the Parents Office

•  Margaret Himley, Associate Provost for International Education and Engagement

•  Martin Lopez-Galicia, Senior, College of Arts and Sciences

•  Amy Lutz, Associate Professor, Sociology

•  Gladys McCormick, Assistant Professor, History

•  Laura-Anne Minkoff-Zern, Assistant Professor, Food Studies

•  Vernon Thompson, Commander, DPS

•  Kizzie P. Walker, Staff Therapist and Multicultural Outreach Specialist

Student representatives will be later announced, according to the press release.

Photo: SU Photo & Image Archive

Post new comment

* Field must be completed for your comment to appear on The NewsHouse
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.